Welcome, Guest

SA MEETINGS? ARE THEY NECCESARY?
(0 viewing) 
This is a board for all the important threads that we don't want to get lost among the others :-)
  • Page:

TOPIC: SA MEETINGS? ARE THEY NECCESARY? 3356 Views

SA MEETINGS? ARE THEY NECCESARY? 25 Dec 2013 23:05 #225595

• shefflover87
  • Current streak: 90 days
  • Fresh Boarder
Hey guys,

Im new to all of this material, emails, forums, handbooks etc. I was introduced to the site at the annual seminar in Jerusalem that GYE has. I now am struggling to understand whether I am an addict, or if I need to be attending SA meetings that deal with the 12 steps that help overcome the lust and need to act out. I know it can be an addiction, but do I need to be going to regular meetings, following the Big book, really being active with a sponsor and so on..

Can't I just read chizzuk emails, really start guarding my eyes, post and read regularly on this site, and just educate myself with all the material there is to read and watch on this site and the handbooks it offers as well?

Please advise with what worked for YOU, what others who have been sober for years have said, and what really is the best proven way for someone who may be on the fence of the addiction.

Thanks!

Re: SA MEETINGS? ARE THEY NECCESARY? 26 Dec 2013 00:37 #225603

There is a test that can determine whether you are a sex addict. Hopefully some nice guy will chime in and direct you to that material.

But on a simpler level, you can start with the GYE handbook. It is built on the philosophy that there are different levels of severity regarding lust problems. You can start at level one (i.e. try it for some time), and if it does not work for you, move on to level two, etc. This way you'll see whether you reach the level that requires full SA participation.

Hatzlacha

MT

Re: SA MEETINGS? ARE THEY NECCESARY? 26 Dec 2013 01:25 #225607

• gibbor120
  • Platinum Boarder
  • NEVER EVER GIVE UP!