Welcome, Guest

Introducing myself - and important question
(0 viewing) 
Welcome to our forum! Introduce yourself here (anonymously, of course) and get a warm welcome from the rest of the community!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Introducing myself - and important question 572 Views

Introducing myself - and important question 28 Nov 2013 02:30 #224187

• bearman13
  • Junior Boarder
Hi.

I've been accessing this website for a few months now, although this is the first time I'm actually posting. I don't have a lot of time right now, but I will write up my full story at a later stage.

But in brief: I'm currently 31 years of age. I first became acquainted with internet material when I was probably about 16. And have had what I would say is a serious problem since I was about 23/24. I've tried stopping many times but there were never the right safeguards or community support to achieve it. I've only ever spoken to one person about it and that was a therapist.

But now I'm totally 100% committed to kicking this thing and getting rid of it. I have had moderate success over the last few months but keep falling back. Each time I do I tweak/tighten the safeguards and it's better next time. I feel confident that I can achieve this. It's good to see others struggling with the same issues as me, and also to see others succeeding. Only others who suffer the same thing can appreciate how hard it is.

My important question right now is: I have the k9 filter installed on my computer. The password is totally hidden from me and I don't have access to it. But the software is registered to an email address that I have access to. I could put in a dummy email, but I'm just worried in case one day I actually will need to change a setting, and for whatever reason I can't get the password, and then I'll be stuck.