Welcome, Guest

Do I want to serve Hashem or myself?
(0 viewing) 
Scientific studies show that it takes 90 days to break an addictive pattern in the mind. Start your own Log of your journey to 90 days! Post here to update us on your status and to give each other chizuk to stay strong!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Do I want to serve Hashem or myself? 270 Views

Do I want to serve Hashem or myself? 07 May 2021 02:52 #368102

• bisyata_dishmaya
  • Current streak: 83 days
  • Fresh Boarder
I'm new to GYE and i suppose ill just speak my thoughts.

I'm like all of the rest of you. I've been battling this great challenge with my yetzer for years. Just to give you an idea, I started when I was in 10th grade and now I'm 22. Throughout those years of battle, the struggles have become different. I used to be very unaware that it was an issue and rather i felt it to be more like a happy getaway that I was allowed to do as I please with no consequence. As I've developed very much since my high school years, I've learned more and become more aware of my responsibility as a ben torah and someone who tries to emulate Hashem's ways. Somedays I think to myself "today I will be the best servent Hashem's ever had!" and other days i say "servent to Hashem? It's my choice to make and  If I want pleasure I can do as I please.". On those days where I find myself serving myself, those are the darkest of days- days where even in a room full of friends, i feel alone. I know that the pleasure is fleeting and making that soul choice is much more rewarding than letting my animal side make the decisions, but how do I reconcile the contradiction of me saying I want to serve Hashem and do what's right and then I go and do all the things I said I wouldn't do....

Help me out my GYE family:)

~sincerely a striving eved Hashem. 

Re: Do I want to serve Hashem or myself? 07 May 2021 03:09 #368104

• happyyid
  • Current streak: 58 days
  • Platinum Boarder
Hey welcome to the family!
Great first post!