Welcome, Guest

Starting with new strength
(0 viewing) 
Scientific studies show that it takes 90 days to break an addictive pattern in the mind. Start your own Log of your journey to 90 days! Post here to update us on your status and to give each other chizuk to stay strong!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Starting with new strength 899 Views

Starting with new strength 13 Aug 2012 02:31 #143524

• kovesh
  • Current streak: 38 days
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting and I was debating if I should for a while. I tried to go through the 90 days on my own but I wasn't too successful so I decided to try it again, this time letting everyone know where i'm holding.

Just a bit about myself, I am a bochur (part time in yeshiva) of marriageable age, and I have being struggling with this addiction since i was 14. It started off with reading articles then went on to pictures and eventually videos. I would "act out" about once a week or sometimes more if I wasn't so busy or if I wasn't in my routine. I am always filled with guilt and regret after "acting out". I tried stopping but the addiction usually got the better of me.

I stumbled, B'H, upon GYE in January and read their handbook and other articles. It really hit me hard how can I build a true relationship with someone while being in such shmutz. So I started the 90 days and kept up for a good 30 days, but then I fell. After that I would fall usually once a week or sometimes I managed to pull off two. After one clean day I feel like the struggle is gone and forget that I'm working on it. Then I would just fall again when the feelings come back the week later. I got frustrated with not being able to "just do it" so I sorta spiraled down and stopped working on it.

Now I am pretty low but I think if I put myself to it with Hashem's help I will be able to pull myself out of this mess and try to keep above even though I know there will always be that struggle.

I'll try to update everyone every day or two.