Welcome, Guest

Offering suggestions that have worked for me
(0 viewing) 
If you've made progress - thank G-d, double your merit by inspiring others as well! Post the tips and advice that worked best for you in your journey to sobriety or tell us about recommendations you heard from others that work.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Offering suggestions that have worked for me 176 Views

Offering suggestions that have worked for me 13 Jul 2023 09:39 #398716

• Fenix001
  • Fresh Boarder
Shalom u’Vrachah

Please note: 

I may update this from time to time with more tips, so please feel free to look back every now and again. 

I am by no means an expert on these things, not by a long shot, but I wanted to post these methods that have helped me to stay away from looking at and "acting" upon inappropriate things in the hope that they may help others as well.

That said, here are some of the things that have helped me;

1.     When using the restroom, taking a shower, changing clothes, or doing anything else that requires the lower area to be uncovered for any period of time, I find it helpful to not look at that area. For me, I close my eyes, or simply look at other places (walls, ceiling, etc.). 

If you have difficulty specifically when in the shower, a Rebbe once suggested to me the following; 

If you are working on a project or have something at work that you are in the middle of, whenever thoughts of an inappropriate nature arise, try to divert these thoughts and instead think about the project you are working on (for me, I am writing a few books, so I sometimes think about that, or I think about an issue that I am having with regard to a specific project I am working on). 

If doing that does not help, then try postponing acting on the urge until you have completed shampooing your hair. If you succeed there, try postponing acting on the urge until you have finished washing your upper body. Keep trying to postpone the urge as long as you can, and it should gradually diminish.